Thursday, June 4 2020

3/6/19 – David Cutcliffe, Head Football Coach, Duke

Our guest speaker for this meeting will be David Cutcliffe, Head Football Coach at Duke University.  Cutcliffe, the 2013 National Coach of the Year who has earned both ACC and SEC Coach of the Year honors in a distinguished career that includes the mentoring of Super Bowl MVP quarterbacks Peyton and Eli Manning, was named Duke University’s 21st head football coach on December 15, 2007.

Cutcliffe is 67-72 (.482) in 11 seasons at Duke and owns an overall head coaching ledger of 111-101 (.524).

In addition to guiding the Blue Devil gridiron program, Cutcliffe serves on the American Football Coaches Association’s Board of Trustees.

Duke’s ascension into the national college football landscape has been spearheaded by Cutcliffe, who took over the program prior to the 2008 campaign after the Blue Devils had won just 10 total games in the previous eight seasons.  Cutcliffe’s vision has come together in the last seven years with 52 victories, six bowl appearances and the 2013 ACC Coastal Division championship.

Cutcliffe, born September 16, 1954, came to Duke after serving the previous two seasons as assistant head coach and offensive coordinator at the University of Tennessee. His head coaching experience includes a six-year stint at the University of Mississippi from 1999-2004 where he compiled a 44-29 (.603) ledger with five winning seasons, five bowl game appearances and a share of the SEC Western Division championship in 2003. Cutcliffe was named the SEC Coach of the Year in 2003 after leading the Rebels to a 10-3 record including a 31-28 victory over Oklahoma State in the Cotton Bowl.

Cutcliffe has participated in 28 bowl games including the 1982 Peach, 1983 Florida Citrus, 1984 Sun, 1986 Sugar, 1986 Liberty, 1988 Peach, 1990 Cotton, 1991 Sugar, 1992 Fiesta, 1993 Hall of Fame, 1994 Florida Citrus, 1994 Gator, 1996 Florida Citrus, 1997 Florida Citrus, 1998 Orange, 1998 Independence, 1999 Independence, 2000 Music City, 2002 Independence, 2004 Cotton, 2007 Outback, 2008 Outback, 2012 Belk, 2013 Chick-fil-A, 2014 Hyundai Sun, 2015 New Era Pinstripe. 2017 Quick Lane and 2018 Walk-On’s Independence Bowl. He owns a 8-4 record as a head coach in bowl tilts with wins over Oklahoma, Nebraska, Oklahoma State, Texas Tech, Indiana, Northern Illinois and Temple.





Mark Your Calendar

3/20/19 – Dave Odom, College Basketball Expert
4/3/19 – J. J. Cooper, Executive Editor, Baseball America
4/17/19 – Paul Haagan, Duke Law Professor and Head of The Center for Sports Law and Policy

Leave a comment

Durham Sports Club